Professor Dave Phoenix OBE

Professor David Phoenix is the Vice Chancellor of London South Bank University, Chair of MillionPlus, and a member of the Board of Universities UK and of HEFCE’s Strategic Committee for Teaching Quality and the Student Experience. He was elected to Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh) for his contribution to medical research and education and recognised as an Academician by the Academy of Social Sciences for his work in areas linked to educational policy. In 2015 the Prime Minister appointed him as a trustee of the Science Museum Group.

Professor Phoenix remains a visiting professor at Kings College London and Sichuan University, China, as well as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, The Society of Biology, The Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the Royal Society of Medicine. He was appointed as a Deputy Lieutenant of Greater London in 2015.

Chief Executive

Pam Tatlow

Pam has been Chief Executive of MillionPlus since 2007. Pam has taught in schools and colleges, served in senior roles in organisations representing health and education staff and has wide-ranging experience in local government, public and parliamentary affairs. She has been a school governor, served on the management committee of a number of voluntary organisations and on the Board of a major regeneration project and was appointed as a Lay Judge to the Employment Appeal Tribunal in 2002.

Pam is a member of a number of stakeholder and policy groups related to higher and adult education. She has a BEd and an MA in European Management and Employment Law and was awarded an honorary doctorate for services to higher education by the University of Bolton in 2015.

Executive Members

Shirley Atkinson

University of Sunderland (Treasurer)

Professor Graham Baldwin

Southampton Solent University

Professor Peter John

University of West London

Bill Rammell

University of Bedfordshire

Professor Nigel Seaton

Principal and Vice-Chancellor,
Abertay University